This past week at the farm I found out that someone was worried about purchasing some of my baked goods because there was buckwheat flour listed as an ingredient and therefore “they contain gluten”…??
I know many of you already know this but for those of you recently diagnosed with a gluten intolerance or Celiac disease, it is understandable that you may not have had a chance to investigate this foodstuff, which is not even a grain.
This is what it IS: A seed that can be ground into a flour. A member of the rhubarb family.
This is what it is NOT: It is NOT a cereal or grain. It is NOT related to wheat. It does NOT contain gluten.
I love buckwheat because it’s high starch content makes it a wonderful addition to gluten-free baked goods as does it’s earthy flavor.
Hooray for us who need to avoid gluten!